4 Fantasy Book Series I have Only Discovered This Year via Twitter

There were many book series we can binge-read, most of them were even turned into movies. Sadly, we cannot know it all. But one of the perks of being socially active in Twitter is discovering books and having an interest to read said books. I am not talking about those that were newly released because that’s given already, but books that were actually published a few years back.

And this 2018, I’ve learned four Fantasy book series that most of you might have already read, but lucky me because I am just uncovering these books for the very first time.

Shattered Sea Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie1. Half a King by Joe Abercrombie | Amazon • Book Depository
2. Half the World by Joe Abercrombie Amazon • Book Depository
3. Half a War by Joe AbercrombieAmazon • Book Depository

Shattered Sea trilogy tells the story of Yarvi, youngest son of a warlike king. Born with a crippled hand, he can never live up to his father’s expectations of what a real man should be and his destiny is not the throne but the Ministry, not the sword and shield but the book and the soft word spoken. But when his father and brother are killed, Yarvi is propelled to kingship and must sit in the Black Chair, between gods and men, and half a man must find a way to rule as half a king.

I’ve learned about this series via @NatashaBardon’s tweet:

Themis Files Trilogy by Sylvain Neuvel1. Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel | Amazon • Book Depository
2. Walking Gods by Sylvain Neuvel | 
Amazon • Book Depository
3. Only Human by Sylvain Neuvel | 
Amazon • Book Depository

Themis Files trilogy begins with Sleeping Giants. It follows a group of scientists, led by a physicist named Rose Franklin, as they track down and assemble a giant robot of mysterious origins, scattered across the Earth.

I’ve first learned about this series when Sarah from @thebooktraveler recommended the audiobooks:

The Girl of Fire & Thorns Trilogy by Rae Carson1. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson | Amazon • Book Depository
2. Crown of Embers by Rae Carson | 
Amazon • Book Depository
3. The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson |
 Amazon • Book Depository
(Note: Buy links for these new cover editions will be available 7/23/19)

Girl of Fire & Thorns trilogy is about an insecure princess with an unclear destiny who becomes a secret bride, a revolutionary, a queen, and—finally—the champion her world so desperately needs. Her future is unknown and her potential is tremendous—even if she doesn’t realize it. A sweeping fantasy series about a young woman finding her true strength, perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones.

I haven’t heard about this series since just recently when author, @raecarson shared the new cover editions on her twitter:

Mortal Engines Quartet by Philip Reeve.png1. Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve | Amazon • Book Depository
2. Predator’s Gold by Philip Reeve |
 Amazon • Book Depository
3. Infernal Devices by Philip Reeve | 
Amazon • Book Depository
4. A Darkling Plain by Philip Reeve | Amazon • Book Depository
(Note: You can pre-order the Mortal Engines Quartet box set in hardback releasing 11/1/18 here: AmazonBook DepositoryWordery or the illustrated here: Book Depository)

Mortal Engines quartet / The Hungry City Chronicles is a series set in a post-apocalyptic world where Earth has been reduced to wasteland by a devastating conflict known as the Sixty Minute War. To escape the earthquakes, volcanoes, and other instabilities, a Nomad leader called Nikola Quercus installed huge engines and wheels on London, and enabled it to dismantle (or eat) other cities for resources. The technology rapidly spread, and evolved into what is known as Municipal Darwinism.

A few months back, @scholasticuk reveal the new covers, designed by Scholastic’s Jamie Gregory and illustrated by sci-fi artist Ian McQue:

BOOK FLASH: Mortal Engines in theaters December 14, 2018. Watch the new trailer here:

Discussion Time
How about you? Do you have any book series discovered recently? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “4 Fantasy Book Series I have Only Discovered This Year via Twitter

    • Karlita says:

      Tbh, I’ll buy these books for the cover alone. And I second that because Girls of Fire and Thorns’ new editionsare stunning. I’ll be waiting for it to be available before I buy them.😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.