Novel Aesthetics | Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Cover Spread Starfish.inddStarfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman
Published by: Black & White Publishing
Publication date: April 5, 2018
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Buy Links:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book DepositoryBooks-A-Million | Indiebound | Wordery

Synopsis:
Kiko Himura has always had a hard time saying exactly what she’s thinking. With a mother who makes her feel unremarkable and a half-Japanese heritage she doesn’t quite understand, Kiko prefers to keep her head down, certain that once she makes it into her dream art school, Prism, her real life will begin.

But then Kiko doesn’t get into Prism, at the same time her abusive uncle moves back in with her family. So when she receives an invitation from her childhood friend to leave her small town and tour art schools on the west coast, Kiko jumps at the opportunity in spite of the anxieties and fears that attempt to hold her back. And now that she is finally free to be her own person outside the constricting walls of her home life, Kiko learns life-changing truths about herself, her past, and how to be brave.

From debut author Akemi Dawn Bowman comes a luminous, heartbreaking story of identity, family, and the beauty that emerges when we embrace our true selves.Starfish Novel AestheticI’ve never read a book like this before. This has been one of the most breathtaking story I ever read where I could relate to almost everything the characters have experienced, especially Kiko. (Check full review here)

So, today I made an aesthetic for Starfish. If you have read this book, come and chat with me! I’ll be happy to talk my personal experience with this book with you!
Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman (1)

Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman (2)

Advertisements

Novel Aesthetics | The Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan by Gia Cribbs

The Disappearance of Sloane SullivanThe Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan by Gia Cribbs
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Publication date: May 29, 2018
Genre: Young Adult, Suspense, Thriller
Buy Links:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound

Synopsis:
No one wants me to tell you about the disappearance of Sloane Sullivan.

Not the lawyers or the cops. Not her friends or family. Not even the boy who loved her more than anyone. And most certainly not the United States Marshals Service. You know, the people who run the witness protection program or, as it’s officially called, the Witness Security Program? Yeah, the WITSEC folks definitely don’t want me talking to you.

But I don’t care. I have to tell someone.

If I don’t, you’ll never know how completely wrong things can go. How a single decision can change everything. How, when it really comes down to it, you can’t trust anyone. Not even yourself. You have to understand, so it won’t happen to you next. Because you never know when the person sitting next to you isn’t who they claim to be…and because there are worse things than disappearing.The Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan Novel AestheticThis book is perfect for the fans of the TV series, The Blacklist and In Plain SightThe Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan is a devious, sensational and a ready movie material debut with skillfully pulled off, tricky and well-crafted plot, ending the story in a chain of coherent twists, shock and wonder.

If you love suspense, thriller and a bit of romance, this one is a book to remember! (Check full review here)

Lesson number six: take control of the situation.
Novelaesthetic_ The Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan

Have you read this book already? Come and chat with me! I’ll be happy to talk this book with you!

Novel Aesthetics | People Like Us by Dana Mele

ef668-peoplelikeusPeople Like Us by Dana Mele
Published by: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication date: February 27, 2018
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery
Buy links:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound | Book Depository

Synopsis:
Kay Donovan may have skeletons in her closet, but the past is past, and she’s reinvented herself entirely. Now she’s a star soccer player whose group of gorgeous friends run their private school with effortless popularity and acerbic wit. But when a girl’s body is found in the lake, Kay’s carefully constructed life begins to topple.

The dead girl has left Kay a computer-coded scavenger hunt, which, as it unravels, begins to implicate suspect after suspect, until Kay herself is in the crosshairs of a murder investigation. But if Kay’s finally backed into a corner, she’ll do what it takes to survive. Because at Bates Academy, the truth is something you make…not something that happened.

A sharp psychological thriller that’s just right for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Pretty Little Liars–this story will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you.
Novel Aesthetic People Like Us

For in that sleep of death what dreams may come
When we have shuffled off this mortal coil,
Must give us pause.
Hamlet (Shakespeare)

Novelaesthetic_ People Like Us
Novelaesthetic_ People Like Us

If you want to know Dana Mele’s inspiration for this amazing debut, check the interview I did with her. Have you read People Like Us already? So tell me, what do you think? Chat with me and let me know in the comments below!

Novel Aesthetics | Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington

Love Songs & Other LiesLove Songs & Other Liesby Jessica Pennington
Published by: Tor Teen
Publication date: April 24, 2018
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance
Pre-order Links:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book DepositoryIndiebound | Powell’s

Synopsis:
It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

Breaking Vee’s heart was never Cam’s plan. All he wanted senior year was a new life, in a new town, uninterrupted by the tragedy he left behind. Then Vee swept him into a whirlwind of friendship, musical adventure, and a love he didn’t expect or want. Now, he has a second chance to make it right. But things get complicated when ratings-crazy producers, cameramen, and fans are involved. Can he rewrite their love song with the whole world watching?
Novel Aesthetic_ LS&OL
If you are a part of Jessica Pennington’s Love Songs & Other Lies Street Team, I’m sure you are aware that Novel Aesthetic is one of her Week One’s Challenge and today, I’m sharing what I’ve done to you guys!

I heard and see a lot of aesthetics on Twitter, Facebook and most especially Pinterest (take note: I have an addiction tendency for Pinterest since HS. Who’s with me? Raise both hands and feet!). Kidding aside, this is my first time creating one for a novel. I really had fun making aesthetic mood boards for this amazing debut! But because I pay too much attention on every single, small detail that I know that could be significant to get the precise vibe I want others to take upon seeing these which I hopefully reflect on the story, I admit that it was not that easy when my OC-ness took control over me. LOL!

I really love this book and I’m sure you will too! Hope these novel aesthetics I made will somehow influence you to read the story—Cam, Vee and Your Future X.

Love Songs & Other Lines is told in a dual timeline, so here’s THEN:
Novelaesthetic Love Songs & Other Lies Then
And NOW:
Novelaesthetic Love Songs & Other Lies Now
Novelaesthetic Love Songs & Other Lies Now (2)
I see you got intrigued in there, right? So tell me, what do you think? Chat with me and let me know in the comments below!